Quotes

The Sky is Darkening

When I recently spent an interesting day in the middle of a storm, I was trying to place a bit of a poem that kept running through my mind and then escaping me… The sky was getting inky blue, the clouds were swirling and all I could remember was, “the sky is darkening like a stain…

Though I have no clue where I read it or heard it, this often comes to mind when storms roll in, then I forget it until the next one. This morning, it came to me as I was in a weird headspace… and luckily, I was sitting at the computer… google to the rescue!  A-ha! It’s from W.H. Auden’s The Witness which has nothing to do with storms but it will still be my go-to-thought when the heavens darken above me and I can feel the electricity in the air…

The sky is darkening like a stain,
Something is going to fall like rain
And it won’t be flowers.

All my fellow nerds will understand the satisfaction that comes from knowing something you didn’t know a few moments before. Non-nerds will just need to take my word for it.

Leave a Reply

