Quotes / Real life

R.I.P. Rupert

Rupert Brooke died on this day in 1915.

Rupert who? B.r.o.o.k.e.

The poet who penned the lines from which “wawbat” was pulled… that’s who.

He is best known for his ‘war sonnets’

If I should die, think only this of me:
That there’s some corner of a foreign field that is for ever England.

but those are the writings I like least. Since I am a tactile person, I think I appreciate the way he evoked that in his writing…

Then, the cool kindliness of sheets, that soon smooth away trouble;
and the rough male kiss of blankets…

While I adore every word of The Treasure, I find only bits and pieces of his other works to my liking

Infinite hungers leap no more in the chance swaying of your dress;
And love has changed to kindliness.

He was a romantic

Oh! death will find me long before I tire of watching you.

who sounded much older than he was

And there’s an end, I think, of kissing, when our mouths are one with mouth

and apparently experienced a bit of heartbreak and betrayal in his short life

And I shall find some girl perhaps,
And a better one than you,
With eyes as wise, but kindlier,
And lips as soft, but true,
And I daresay she will do.

with an odd bit of humor here and there…

The women there do all they ought;
The men observe the Rules of Thought;
They love the Good; they worship Truth;
They laugh uproariously in youth;
(And when they get to feeling old,
They up and shoot themselves, I’m told). . .

I just like good old Rupert, what can I say?

The Rupert Brooke Society
Rupert Brooke dies in Greece

Leave a Reply

