Music / Quotes / Real life / Religion

Namasté

I was raised Christian… I get Christians. I understand the bible… and a great deal of it is committed to memory (pops up at the oddest moments, too).

As I moved towards agnosticism, the one thing I never missed was that “us and them” bullshit. As humans, we gravitate towards dichotomy. It’s easy… yes/no, good/bad, madonna/whore, black/white, heaven/hell… and perhaps the most profound: ME/YOU and US/THEM.

It would be one thing if we simply categorized folks and then went about our business… content to let them do the same. Sadly, the ME will often see their needs as more important than those of the YOU. Sadder still, the US tend to pick up knives and guns… and we wage war on the THEM. We imprison each other, we marginalize each other, we hurt each other in horrific ways, we  kill each other and slaughter each others children.  What’s worse? We generally do all of this in the name of [insert your G/god here].

In my readings, I came across this on a website and I apologize for not grabbing the url (if it’s yours, let me know so I can credit you!):

 Namasté is pronounced “nah-mah-STAY”
In a religious context this word can be taken to mean any of these:
The Spirit in me meets the same Spirit in you.
I greet that place where you and I are one.
I salute the Light of God in you.
I bow to the divine in you.
I recognize that within each of us is a place where Divinity dwells, and when we are in that place, we are One.

In other words, it recognizes the equality of all, and pays honor to the sacredness and interconnection of all, as well as to the source of that interconnection.
Namasté can be used as a greeting for all ages, all genders, all races. Namasté greetings can be given to friends, family members, and also strangers.

 Why do we focus on the differences in our faiths? There are far more similarities. Imagine what a world we might have if we spent half of the time celebrating convergence that we did fighting and killing over divergence. I was talking about this via email with my father, and this song came to mind. If only…

Namasté

This version starts fuzzy… but is cleaned up… nicely done

3 thoughts on “Namasté

Leave a Reply

