Music / Real life

where everybody knows your name

i passed a very nice Christmas.

It was the first Christmas in recent memory that had no tether to my father (he called but i didn’t pick up or check voicemail). i replied to a text from my brother. i didn’t call my aunt. i made a purposeful decision to speak to… to touch… the people i wished to and set the rest aside. i had no desire to be cruel; i simply wished to spend the day my way.

No tree, either.

J was with His family, but i visited mother, spent time with my spawn, and then went to enjoy the evening with people who know my name.

…the entire evening… with people who call me bat.

Nice.

i received several lovely gifts and a special one that rendered me mute:

IMAG2086

It was  good day.

Themesong from Cheers (Gary Portnoy’s “Where everybody knows your name”)

Leave a Reply

