Music / Real life

we will not pass this way again

i tend to find joy – or at least some semblance of it – even in the tedium of life.  i make ten-minute friends in the line at the grocers, i tune to odd bits of conversation, i attend to many little elements in my environment that make me smile… smells… sights… textures…

And let’s not forget words… powerful critters, words are. They can provoke thought or amuse me no end. They can tickle the tongue or the ear. They can cut like razors. i delight in words and in language… my own… others’

As i was penning my “Good Morning” message to Master today, i reflected that mom would be with me again part of the day. i wrote, “we will not pass this way again” and was struck by that statement as it left my fingertips and appeared on the screen.

She’s been hanging out a lot the last few days and it is distracting but it is also really cool because these moments are precious.

It reminded me of the song i posted just two days ago…

… you can’t jump the track, we’re like cars on a cable…
…Life’s like an hourglass, glued to the table…

…There’s a light at each end of this tunnel …
… you’re just as far in as you’ll ever be out…
… these mistakes you’ve made, you’ll just make them again if you’d only try turning around…*

And as i write about this, i am struck by the song writer’s admission …

something i understand oh so well…

If I get it all down on paper, it’s no longer inside of me,
Threatening the life it belongs to
And I feel like I’m naked in front of the crowd
Cause these words are my diary, screaming out loud
And I know that you’ll use them, however you want to*

And so, i write… i do not wish to pass this way again, much as i enjoy the scenery. i want to keep moving and experiencing new things without rehashing all of the landmarks i’ve passed. i am trying as best i can to feel “all the feels” and then release them to the wind… the world-wide-wind (smirk) to be what they are. i wonder, sometimes, if this process helps anyone but me but if it only serves to keep me from living within the walls of my words, i think that’s okay… and energy well-spent.

IMAG2475

*Note: The song, “Breathe, 2 AM” was written by Anna Nalick

Leave a Reply

